By using this website, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyse site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts. View our Cookie Policy for more information.
british rally championship

Cronin Seeking Jim Clark Boost

This weekend's Jim Clark Rally in the Scottish Borders marks the mid-point of Keith Cronin and Mikie Galvin's combined 2024 British Rally Championship and Irish Tarmac Rally Championship campaign.  

While the Killarney and District Motor Club crew lead the Tarmac series in their M O’Brien Group of Companies/Lyons Motor Group/Shane Casey Electrical Services Ford Fiesta Rally 2, they have had a troubled start to the British Championship, and lie eighth in the standings, 32 points off the lead, following the opening two rounds.  A strong result in Scotland would provide a timely boost to their BRC challenge and could prove crucial to the ultimate determination of the title battle, one that Cronin has won on four previous occasions.

"We haven't had the greatest of starts to the BRC, between punctures and mechanical issues, the North West Stages Rally and the Severn Valley didn't go well, so we could do with a clean run this weekend," said Cronin.  "The points situation doesn't appear great, but it's not as bad as it looks," he added.  "There's two rounds gone, with four more to go, and the best five results of the season count towards the total.  Each leg of Rali Ceredigion at the end of the summer represents a separate scoring opportunity, and the final round, the Cambrian Rally, is worth points-and-a-half, so there's five scoring opportunities left, and the last two events are effectively worth 3.5 rallies.  Hopefully we'll be in the shake-up at the end of the year, but whoever the contenders will be, I expect that the championship won't be decided until the final stage of the final rally."  

Chris Ingram, winner of the North West Stages, currently leads the standings on 42 points.  He is followed by William Creighton, who finished second on the North West and Severn Valley rallies, on 38, while Severn Valley victor Osian Pryce occupies third place on the leaderboard, with 27 points.

The Jim Clark Rally, named after the two-time Formula One World Champion, Indianapolis 500 winner, and Duns' most famous son, gets underway on Friday evening, with the Langton Mill spectator stage, which features a watersplash within its short, two mile, layout.  The next test, Abbey St. Bathans, is the longest of the rally, at 10.9 miles, and this is followed by Blackadder, which is just over seven miles in length.  After Service in Duns, this loop will be repeated as darkness falls, and the crews will return to the headquarters town from around 10pm onwards.  Saturday's action consists of four stages repeated, with Langton Mill again opening the loop.  The rest of quartet, Edrom, Ayton and Fogo, are all in the region of seven miles long.  The winners' champagne celebrations will take place in Duns Square at approximately 2.20pm.  "I like the Jim Clark Rally, I usually seem to go well there, so hopefully things will go well again this time around," said Cronin, who won the event in 2012 and 2022, and finished second last year to WRC driver, Adrien Fourmaux.

Beatson's Building Supplies Jim Clark Rally 2024

Top Ten Seeds

1: Chris Ingram/Alex Kihurani, Volkswagen Polo GTI R5

2: Keith Cronin/Mikie Galvin, Ford Fiesta Rally 2

3: Euan Thorburn/Paul Beaton, Volkswagen Polo GTI R5

4: Osian Pryce/Rhodri Evans, Ford Fiesta Rally 2

5: William Creighton/Liam Regan, Ford Fiesta Rally 2

6: Meirion Evans/Jonathan Jackson, Toyota GR Yaris Rally 2

7: James Williams/Ross Whittock, Hyundai i20 N Rally 2  

8: Callum Black/Jack Morton, Ford Fiesta Rally 2

9: Garry Pearson/Daniel Barritt, Ford Fiesta Rally 2

10: Mark Kelly/Will Atkins, Skoda Fabia R5

Beatson's Building Supplies Jim Clark Rally 2024


Friday 24 May

Shakedown, Ryslaw, 08:30 - 12:30

Scrutiny, Station Road, Duns, 10:00 - 16:30

(First Car Due)

Ceremonial Start, Duns Square, 18:00

Stage 1: Langton Mill 1, 18:11

Stage 2: Abbey St. Bathans 1, 18:46

Stage 3: Blackadder 1, 19:22

Regroup, Duns Square, 19:41

Service In, Station Road, Duns,19:59

Stage 4: Langton Mill 2, 20:38

Stage 5: Abbey St. Bathans 2, 21:13

Stage 6: Blackadder 2, 21:49

End of Leg 1, Duns Square, 22:08

Saturday 25th May

Ceremonial Restart, Duns Square, 10:00

Stage 7: Langton Mill 3, 10:11

Stage 8: Edrom 1, 10:24

Stage 9: Ayton 1, 10:52

Stage 10: Fogo 1, 11:28

Regroup: Duns Square,11:45

Service In: Station Road, Duns, 12:03

Stage 11: Langton Mill 4, 12:42

Stage 12: Edrom 2, 12:55

Stage 13: Ayton 2, 13:23

Stage 14: Fogo 2, 13:59

Rally Finish: Berwickshire High School, 14:16

Ceremonial Finish: Duns Square, 14:20 approx.

External Credits:

Keith Cronin Rallying/Image - Jakob Ebrey Motorsport


Your donations allow us to continue delivering high-quality content, from in-depth articles to event coverage, ensuring RallyFish remains a valuable resource